h1

Petworth Library

March 10, 2011

Petworth Library

Open at last. I had the great satisfaction of working at one of the big laptop friendly tables one day last week. I’m not an objective source given it’s proximity to our house, but I wandered around quite a bit and – as a student of “good government” I was duly impressed. They seem to have spent a great deal of money, but spent it well. Read all about it here and here. I was particularly taken by the streetscape inset in the floor of the main entry space. Easily the creepiest element of the library seems like is presumably temporary – the strange wax figure, supposedly depicting Washington, DC ‘s own Marvin Gaye that can be observed to the right of the fireplace in the picture below. It’s some sort of a promotion for Madame Tussauds, I guess, but it doesn’t make me want to pay for more.

 

One comment

  1. looks beautiful!!



Leave a Reply

