h1

Tribe

July 23, 2011

Q-Tip is my title.

I don’t think that is vital for me to be your idol,

but dig this recital.

If you can’t envision a brother who ain’t dissin

Slingin’ this and that, ’cause this and that was missin.

The opening lines of A Tribe Called Quest’s first album, “People’s Instinctive Travels…” I remember pulling it off the rack at Orbit Records in Mishawaka, Indiana when I was fifteen or sixteen. The cassette was locked in one of those big plastic security contraptions. I remember pausing because I thought I was taking a risk. Music wasn’t cheap before it was free.

Last weekend, Rachel and I biked down to Georgetown to see Beats, Rhymes, and Life: The Travels of A Tribe Called Quest a documentary that tells the group’s story. Here’s a good review. It was a dose of youthful nostalgia on the week of my 37th birthday. “I still got it.”

Leave a Reply

